First team

RC Celta saves a draw against Villarreal CF (1-1)

RC Celta

RC Celta earned a point this afternoon at Abanca Balaídos after a one-goal draw against Villarreal CF in the match corresponding to the fourteenth round of LaLiga. The team from Castellón took the lead in the first half through Alberto Moreno, but the sky blues improved in the second half and equalized through Brais Méndez.

After a few minutes without clear dominator and with alternatives in ball possession, Nolito starred in the first clear chance of the match with a shot that sought the left post. Kevin, after Rulli’s rejection, failed to connect with precision in the direction of the goal.

Then came the Villarreal CF goal after a defensive mismatch that Alberto Moreno took advantage of to score the 0-1. The sky blue reaction was not long in coming, with Javi Galán’s cross-shot crashing against the right post. For their part, the visitors had two good chances to increase their lead in the final stretch of the first half, but Matías Dituro appeared under the posts to keep the score level.

After a few minutes of tentativeness at the start of the second half, RC Celta would begin to recover their best version and would warn of their intentions after a good individual action of Araújo, who entered at halftime, whose shot would go wide. It was the prelude to the equalizer, which came after a shot by Beltrán that Rulli failed to save and, on the rebound, Brais Méndez put the ball into the back of the net.

The goal spurred on Eduardo Coudet’s team, who had a great chance to take the lead after a combination between Brais, Galhardo and Aspas, whose shot went just wide. RC Celta was the protagonist of a final stretch of the match in which, with no more strength for more, both teams would end up sharing the points.

After this draw, the sky blues have thirteen points and will face Deportivo Alavés next Saturday, November 27 at 14:00 at Mendizorrotza in the fifteenth round of LaLiga.


1 – RC CELTA: Dituro; Kevin, Aidoo (José Fontán, min. 78), Murillo (Araújo, min. 46), Javi Galán; Fran Beltrán (Okay, min. 85), Brais Méndez, Denis Suárez, Nolito (Cervi, min. 61); Iago Aspas, Santi Mina (Galhardo, min. 46).

1 – VILLARREAL CF: Rulli; Foyth (Aurier, min. 83), Albiol, Pau Torres, Pedraza; Trigueros (Moi Gómez, min. 69), Iborra, Parejo; Rubén Peña (Yéremy, min. 69), Dia (Chukwueze, min. 83), Alberto Moreno (Coquelin, min. 83).

Goals: Alberto Moreno (0-1, min. 26); Brais Méndez (1-1, min, 71).

Referee: Alberola Rojas, of the Castilian-La Mancha school. Yellow cards for Santi Mina of RC Celta and Foyth of Villarreal CF.

Field: Abanca Balaídos (10,086 spectators).

RC Celta


First team

Noticias recomendadas